AnthroBase.com: Multilingual Database of Anthropological Texts

Recent texts include the full text of Finn Sivert Nielsen‘s 1986 monograph on Russian identity and Soviet nation building (the first and only fieldwork-based anthropological study to have been conducted by a Western scholar in an urban Soviet setting); Maja Hojer‘s elegant discussion of the Soldiers’ Mothers of St. Petersburg; Christopher Freudenberg‘s classical exercise in comparison from 1970 (an early reaction to Barth’s theory of ethnicity); Christian Krohn-Hansen and Halvard Vike‘s authoritative introduction to political anthropology; Benedikte Kristensen‘s fascinating thesis on traditional Tuvan shamanism, the nomadic landscape and her unusual fieldwork experiences; Petia Mankova‘s sensitive study of everyday economic relations in a Northern Russian village; Mimi Larsson‘s succinct analysis of the politics of the Telecottage movement in Hungary; and also texts from Hong Kong, Greenland, Ethiopia, Australia, Cuba, New Zealand, Peru, Tibet etc.  http://www.anthrobase.com/

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Anthropology, Language and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.