Destruction of Antiquities Continues Unabated

A single search of “destruction archaeological sites” turned up the following sites with many more not noted.


The destruction of a single site in Mexico must take a back seat to the larger world picture.  Up until three years ago there was a group, the Illicit Antiquities Research Center , which, although now defunct, still maintains a website with links to other entities that monitor antiquities.  Worth a visit.

It takes only a period of about a dozen years to implant a basic culture in the mind of man–the period between the age of two and the age of fourteen. In a psycho-biological sense, history, tradition, and custom are only about 12 years old (Beardsley Rumi, World Trade and Peace Address, 1945). Historicpreservation.gov

Actually, the Mexican government seems to be fairly ecologically minded, especially in the Yucatan, from what I have seen, and especially proud of their heritage and history…be it Aztec, Toltec, Mayan or whatever. So, this is surprising to me. The Yucatan and Central America, however, are “littered” with ancient ruins and artifacts, so I would ask if this was a “major” site, and if it was, I believe archeologists would have removed and retained the remains.  Elaine

I wish that this were so.  Not all of the archaeological sites in Central America have been found.  Jungle cover conceals much and in some parts unexplored.  Progress is being made by identifying sites from satellites by photo filtering to allow disturbed earth and other features to be seen.  Although INAH (http://www.inah.gob.mx/ ) does their best they cannot be everywhere and looting is always a problem.  Drug smuggling vies with illegal logging to complicate the picture.  Central America is truly a marvelous place.  The amount of research to be done stretches forward into the future without end. Illicit Antiquities Research Center


About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Anthropology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.