Destruction of Yucatan Site Complicated by Connected “farmer.”

The “farmer” responsible for turning a mayan archeological site into a  potrero or paddock for his horses was not, as some of us may have assumed, a simple, possibly illiterate farmer.

Not so, and not so much a farmer, Ricardo Ascencio Maldonado on Youtube is president of Exatec Yucatan.  Exatec is the alumni association of the Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey which has worldwide chapters.  Here is the description:

“Welcome to Tecnológico de Monterrey. We are an institution of higher education that prepares students to become responsible citizens and promote development of their communities. Promote in them the values of humanistic, international vision and entrepreneurial culture. We are present throughout Mexico through 31 campuses and in several countries with offices liaison offices and our University Virtua l.”  http://www.itesm.edu/wps/portal?WCM_GLOBAL_CONTEXT=

So, the reported “farmer” may more connected than we thought.  What INAH or other governmental agencies may do with this remains to be seen.  Of course Mexico is a complex country with many conflicting interests.  I doubt that this destruction will be high on anyone’s list

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Environment, Poli/Econ and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.