NASDAQ Hacked

Now I have no inside information, but I suspect it’s not a high school student.  I have a hunch someone is making a bundle at the expense of ordinary investors.  I wonder if a consultant might help. – carlos

Nasdaq hackers target service for corporate boards

February 6, 2011 By PETER SVENSSON , AP Technology WriterNasdaq hackers target service for corporate boards (AP)

Enlarge

The sign outside the NASDAQ Market site is seen in this Aug. 19, 2004 file photo taken in New York. The Wall Street Journal reported on its website late Friday Feb. 4, 2011 that federal investigators are trying to identify the hackers that penetrated the market’s computer network multiple times during the past year. (AP Photo/Kathy Willens, File)

(AP) — Hackers broke into a Nasdaq service that handles confidential communications for some 300 corporations, the company said Saturday – the latest vulnerability exposed in the computer systems Wall Street depends on.

Ads by Google

Data Encryption Software – Centralized Data Security Solution Implement with Ease. Learn How » – vormetric.com/database-security

The intrusions did not affect Nasdaq’s  systems and no customer data was compromised,  OMX Group Inc. said. Nasdaq is the largest electronic securities trading market in the U.S., with more than 2,800 listed companies.

A federal official told The Associated Press that the  broke into the service repeatedly over more than a year. Investigators are trying to identify the hackers, the official said. The motive is unknown. The official spoke on condition of anonymity because the inquiry by the FBI and Secret Service is continuing.

The targeted service, Directors Desk, helps companies share documents with directors between scheduled board meetings. It also allows online discussions and Web conferencing within a board. Since board directors have access to information at the highest level of a company, penetrating the service could be of great value for .

Read more at PhysOrg…

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Poli/Econ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.