Bamiyan Buddha: 10th C Reconstruction

Bamiyan Buddhas

The illustration shows the colored appearance of the Bamiyan Buddhas’ robes at the end of the 10th century. Parts damaged in later periods, which cannot be reconstructed, are made visible. (Credit: Copyright Arnold Metzinger/Courtesy of TU Muenchen)

ScienceDaily (Feb. 25, 2011)— The world watched in horror as Taliban fanatics ten years ago blew up the two gigantic Buddha statues that had since the 6th century looked out over the Bamiyan Valley in what is now Afghanistan. Located on the Silk Road, until the 10th century the 55 and 38 meter tall works of art formed the centerpiece of one of the world’s largest Buddhist monastic complexes. Thousands of monks tended countless shrines in the niches and caves that pierced a kilometer-long cliff face.  More at Science Daily…

 

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bamiyan Buddha: 10th C Reconstruction

  1. Barbara says:

    Saw a wonderful article on this subject a couple of months ago in the Smithsonian. Wish I could have seen them before they were destroyed…..

    • carlos says:

      I saw the actual demolition on tv. I felt like I’d been punched in the stomach. The notion of “barbarian” occurred to me: Someone with no sense of history led by illiterate witch doctors.

Comments are closed.