Malignancy in Libya: What Do You Think?

This could be one of the most difficult decisions the world will make in the next 48 hours.  The ante is being raised as I type.  We know Gaddafi from his actions over the last 40 years.  We know of the Islamic Legion, attempts to obtain nuclear weapons, mustard gas stockpiles, the many assassinations of Libyans abroad, downing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie.

Gaddafi’s Libya is a clear and present to the world and has been for 40 years.  There is no indication his children will become benevolent leaders.

It is painful to plan to remove a government, but this is what the world must do.  Gaddafi’s Libya act and react, pete and repeat, the same irrational excesses that he has in the past.  What, you ask, could be worse than downing of Pan Am Flight 103?  Think about it.  The world must remove him in the interest of the world.

The next one Might be WW III.

Avaaz petitions security councils to impose no-fly zone in Libya

 

View from Libyan Jet

 

http://www.avaaz.org/en/libya_no_fly_zone_1/?cl=978064009&v=8579

As Qaddafi’s jets drop bombs on the Libyan people, the UN Security Council will decide in 48 hours whether to impose a no-fly zone to keep the government’s warplanes on the ground.

Together, we’ve already flooded the Security Council with messages, “overwhelming” the President’s office and helping to win serious targeted sanctions on the Libyan regime – now, to stop the bloodshed, we need a massive outcry of 1 million messages for a no-fly zone.

If Qaddafi can’t dominate the air, he loses a key weapon in a war in which civilians are paying the heaviest price. But as long as his helicopter gunships and bombers are in the air, the death toll will rise. We have just 48 hours left — let’s hit 1 million messages to stop Qaddafi’s deadly attacks before it’s too late.

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Poli/Econ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.