If Gaddafi Wins, Who Will He Attack First, and How?

PanAm Flight 103 (al-Megrahi)

Gates, as Secretary of Defense, has earned my admiration.  He doesn’t make policy, he is responsible for the conduct of military action. Clinton is responsible for state.  They both give their counsel to the president, Obama, who must direct our defense.  His view by definition must include the universe of American interest.

The world must solve its own unique problems.  Iraq was a neoconservative adventure of the Bush administration into preemptive war carrying a big stick.  These perpetrators would be criminals but for their untouchable position.  These actors are examples of what’s not happening in accountability.

Certainly, I don’t have access to the intelligence resources of Gates and the President, but I’m not impressed by what we’ve had before.  I have argued against American neocolonial hegemony in the world before.  I do suggest that we have no right to hold back because we don’t know who is part of the resistance.  That is a red herring: it presupposes the will of a people.  The evil of the Gaddafi machine is real, palpable, and historically evident.

After the Portuguese revolution in ’74 there were 83 political parties from communist to royalist.  I was there and kept a suitcase by the door because you just don’t know which way the wind would blow.  I stayed till ’77 despite running more than a few roadblocks.  To attribute an evil presence in a naive, Mediterranean people is foolish.

Certainly there will be opportunists among them but they must argue in their own marketplace and a place in the economy of the west along with the advantages available is a part of that.  I suggest a reading of that history of the Portuguese revolution might inform our understanding of this revolution.

I am for a lower profile for the US.  Europe sees the danger lurking in the future but we are not likely to see the tough Portuguese marines, the Irish Defense Forces, or the Greeks, because they are economically shaky.  France the UK and a few of the emirates have stepped up, but others, like Germany, have held back (perhaps thinking the whole thing will go away).  Europe has tacitly surrendered/outsourced their mission to NATO and the US.

I believe in diplomacy.  I believe it’s better to jaw, jaw, jaw, than war, war, war.  However, the Gaddafi conglomerate is not Libya and it is more a mafia than a state.  There must be a method help the Libyan people people to renegotiate their social contract and eliminate the mafia that seeks to strangle them and will seek payback from the West, sooner or later. – carlos

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Poli/Econ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If Gaddafi Wins, Who Will He Attack First, and How?

  1. By far, one of the better posts on this issue. I think you are very right about “I am for a lower profile for the US. Europe sees the danger lurking in the future but we are not likely to see the tough Portuguese marines, the Irish Defense Forces, or the Greeks, because they are economically shaky.” In fact, if the U.S. continues on its militarist path and does not diversify this dangerous disposition very soon, it will be bound to join the “economically shaky” club as the world becomes increasingly engulfed in turmoil. Especially if you consider the fact that the deposed dictators in Tunisia and Egypt were U.S.-backed. The oil prices are the first grand warning sign..triggered by a Revolution which sought out to depose these U.S.-backed individuals – non-violently.

  2. peakers82 says:

    This was an interesting post. I’ve commented at The Kansas Free Press in favor of our intervention though I didn’t write about it myself. I think the US has the ability to sway the course of a Libyan civil war with little threat to our own forces. It is interesting that France who has been against the US war machine has stepped up so vigorously, but it is not surprising. France has a real issue with immigration from North Africa. The revolutions in Tunisia, Egypt and possibly Libya will only make that worse. France is getting hawkish out of national interest.

    I agree that we must help the Libyan people, as you say: “renegotiate their social contract and eliminate the mafia that seeks to strangle them.”

    Do you think we are doing that now or is this a mistake?

    • carlos says:

      Yes, Europe is afraid of the bearded masses from across the Mediterranean much as Rome feared the bearded barbarians from the other side of the Danube. The Bar-bar-ians who wore pants and spoke germanic languages piled up at the Rhine and Danube were much like the dark people wearing the burnoose on the other side of the Med. The difference being that we are like the Romans but now we speak a germanic language and wear pants. Over the last 30 years the white burghers of California have lived in fear of the brown tide from the South. I’ve done the only reasonable thing. I speak Portuguese and Spanish.
      I think that the only reasonable thing to do eliminate a 40-year dynasty of unremitting violence in the world. I agree with Machiavelli that our actions should be justified by the results they produce.

Comments are closed.