2 Burka or Not 2 Burka?

 You may not remember, but we met at a party last month…

I admit it.  Every time I see a guy in a gorilla suit walking down the street I usually cross over to the other side of the street unless I recognize him (her).  I don’t know many guys who wear gorilla suits in public so I’d know.  It’s part of my social contract.

I’m a pretty liberal guy. I don’t get bothered by guys who dress up as girls or vice-versa. What ever floats your boat, I always say.  Nevertheless, If I’m waiting to cash a check and someone in a bunny suit gets in line behind me I’ll step out of line for a while.  I’m from NYC and can be pretty blasé about a lot of stuff.

One of the things that allows me to be blasé is my ability to size things up.  I stopped for gas at a station in Arizona, for instance, and a guy on a Harley pulled with a .45 strapped to his leg.  I knew this was possible in Arizona, though not often seen in downtown Phoenix, so I chilled, paid for my gas and left.  You see, I could look at the guys eyes, judge his bearing, and act in my own interest.

Lots of states have laws against wearing disguises in public if it’s not Christmas, or Halloween or gay pride day.  It’s just not customary to wear a mask in the US.  We like to be in control of some part of our lives and being able to spot the oddball in a sea of normies is part of daily survival.

Whats My Line?

So let the rest of us not have an adrenaline rush when you show up with a bulge under the hijab where no organ should be.

In America covering ones face in the normal course of business will bring the (mis)understanding that you don’t want to be a part of American society, and more, that you may be hostile to the culture.

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2 Burka or Not 2 Burka?

  1. Dear Carlos:

    There are a lot of people that avoid to look straight at other peoples eyes. And there are much reason to do so because people are different — some are shy, others feel insecure even among friends and towards strangers..

    But out of those parties days, I even find incivil to show up wherever it be using a desguise that difficult one’s identification.

    Much mistake can occur in such a situation.

    As to the use of burkas in a society where their use is dispensable is a strong proof of rejection towards this society and its culture.

    We have, in Brasil, a proverb (adágio) that runs: “Those who don’t want to look like a wolf don’t put on its furs.”

    Clara

  2. I am all for France banning those horrific bed sheets, and I think it likely that North America will follow suit.

Comments are closed.