Weiner: It’s Men! They’re ALL PIGS! They’re Brain Damaged!

Ok, we get it, being male can be a disability.   It’s that damn Y-chromosome.  Somewhere way, waay back there was a mutation that affected the brain of about half of the population.  Generally, it was a good mutation, it allowed for sexual reproduction, which beefed up our ability to adapt to changing conditions like thin air in the mountains, direct sunlight in the tropics, our ability to cool ourselves through sweating (ever seen a dog sweat?).  But, with all good things there are unanticipated consequences: when you cut a leg off an “X”-chromosome to get a “Y”-chromosome something goes missing.

Not to belabor the obvious but the fair sex is attractive to most of us with the “Y” disability.  The missing leg of the “Y” chromosome evidently has some effect on development.  This opens the wide area of sex variability from the normal (xx, xy) to x, xxx, xxxx, xyy, and more.  Not being a geneticist I will generalize by suggesting that the “Y” chromosome contributes to aggressiveness, impulsivity, and antisocial behavior.

I’m a male and confess to being attracted to females – sometimes unwisely.  My first wife had legs that rose to her armpits and I felt that loss of judgment that rises like a grey mist ghosting my peripheral vision until I had all the intelligence of an alley cat.  However, that was 40 years ago and age and experience have mellowed my susceptibility to rash and impulsive behavior.  However, nature and nurture determine  a wide range of behaviors.  Some behavior is criminal and we condemn it.  Some behavior is just distasteful to our sense of propriety even as polygyny and polyandry are common in many places in the world.

It is immutable biology that women nurture and give birth to children.  Women select their men on the basis of many characteristics as her child is a life-long commitment.  Men see themselves as pollinators in a garden.  There will be some who will argue with this assessment, I think they are naive.  Civilization is a skin deep and imperfect thing and it doesn’t take much wipe it out.

I fall on the tolerant side of the fence as do many in history.  But as in history many are intolerant.  Wars have been fought over religious and political heresies and are being fought today.  I don’t care if a politician is gay or straight but even so I have my prejudices as must all people.  If I see someone with a gun walking on the sidewalk I’ll cross the street or go the other way.  I’m superstitious that way.  But this big deal about Rep Weiner’s online folly doesn’t change his value to the community he represents.

It’s time for the first one without sin to throw the first stone or go home.

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Sex and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weiner: It’s Men! They’re ALL PIGS! They’re Brain Damaged!

  1. Barbara says:

    “It’s time for the first one without sin to throw the first stone or go home.”

    Amen

  2. Susan Sayler says:

    “… But this big deal about Rep Weiner’s online folly doesn’t change his value to the community he represents.”

    No it doesn’t change it one bit — what it does do is call into question whether Weiner HAS ANY value to lend to the community he represents. This man is supposed to be savvy to the ways of the world. That is what qualifies him for his position. To take such an idiot risk, knowing full well that the digital world is not secure, begs the question of whether this married man has anything worthwhile on his mind at all.

    I have worked for Senators and Congressmen and I especially know how hard it is to find time to read all those long and boring reports. Some issues have 20 or more phonebook -sized reports written in tiny fonts. Weiner’s behavior demonstrates about a 10th grade preoccupation with sexual fantasies. I doubt this man is doing the required reading.

Comments are closed.