Pasárgada – Manuel Bandeira

Vou-me Embora pra Pasárgada

Manuel Bandeira

 Vou-me embora pra Pasárgada                             I’m leaving for Pasárgada

Lá sou amigo do rei                                               There I am a friend of the king

Lá tenho a mulher que eu quero                            There I have the woman I want

Na cama que escolherei                                        In a bed of my choosing

Vou-me embora pra Pasárgada                             I’m leaving for Pasárgada

.

Vou-me embora pra Pasárgada                             I’m leaving for Pasárgada

Aqui eu não sou feliz                                              Here I am not happy

Lá a existência é uma aventura                             There living  is an adventure

De tal modo inconsequente                                   Inconsequentially,

Que Joana a Louca de Espanha                            Joana la Louca of Spain,

Rainha e falsa demente                                        The mad Queen

Vem a ser contraparente                                      is my relative, channeled through

Da nora que nunca tive                                         the daughter I never had

.

E como farei ginástica                                          And I’ll do gymnastics,

Andarei de bicicleta                                              ride a bicycle,

Montarei em burro brabo                                      tame a wild donkey,

Subirei no pau-de-sebo                                        I’ll climb a greased pole,

Tomarei banhos de mar!                                       bathe in the sea

E quando estiver cansado                                     And should I tire of all of this

Deito na beira do rio                                             I’ll rest by the river’s edge,

Mando chamar a mãe-d’água                                and call Oxún,

Pra me contar as histórias                                      To tell me the stories

Que no tempo de eu menino                                   That old Rosa told me

Rosa vinha me contar                                              When I was a little boy

Vou-me embora pra Pasárgada                               I’m leaving for Pasárgada

.

Em Pasárgada tem tudo                                         Pasárgada has it all

É outra civilização                                                  It’s another world

Tem um processo seguro                                       There is a fail-safe method

De impedir a concepção                                        To prevent conception

Tem telefone automático                                       There are telefones,

Tem alcalóide à vontade                                         Drugs for the asking,

Tem prostitutas bonitas                                          And easy women

Para a gente namorar                                            To romance

.

E quando eu estiver mais triste                              And when I get sad,

Mas triste de não ter jeito                                      Sad without hope

Quando de noite me der                                        When the darkness of night

Vontade de me matar                                            Wills me to kill myself

— Lá sou amigo do rei —                                      — There I am a friend of the king —

Terei a mulher que eu quero                                  I will have the woman I want

Na cama que escolherei                                          In the bed of my choice

Vou-me embora pra Pasárgada                              I’m going away to Pasárgada

tr por carlos

Suponho que não há qq palavra eufónio para substituir “nora” no sentido de esposa do filho.  Até sogra, em Inglés, tem implicações hosteis (generos e sogras muitas vezes não darem bem). Vejo o narrador como um ser simples de pouco sofisticação e ambições crudos.  Se calhar está a descrever sua visão da vida além desta onde terá tudo que não tem aqui.

Em seu sonho faz fantasias que, em qq modo obscuro, el tivesse sido descendente de “Joana la Louca” por sua “Nora” que nunca teve.  O é o alcalóide que fala de fantasias das coisas importantes que nunca eram realizados em sua vida.  Sem duvida está a contemplar sua morte.

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Art, Language, Sex and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.