Indigenous Maya Still Disposable in Guatemala

Pacal

Usually I like to write about how the Maya independently invented the concept of zero.  How they developed a written language (only recently deciphered).  How they built pyramids, plotted the movement of the heavens, and wrote books to record their knowledge for future generations.  It’s a marvelous story of warfare, succession, culture, drought, religion.

I’m not going to do that today because the genocide of 1960-1996 continues today.  

As defined by Ambrose Bierce in “The Devil’s Dictionary:”  

ABORIGINIESn. Persons of little worth found cumbering the soil of a newly discovered country. They soon cease to cumber; they fertilize.(http://www.thedevilsdictionary.com/)

This definition applies as much today as when Bierce made the observation in 1906.  No longer are government troops exterminating these gentle agricultural people to expropriate their lands for the white and Mestizo elite. The government has outsourced the destruction of the people, the land, and the archaeological patrimony to foreign companies.  

They will ravage the land, hire exterminators, cut off the tops of the mountains and tumble them into the neighboring valleys.  They will flatten the land and leave the cyanide and tailings or any remaining locals. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3VW54YjsgLM

Guatemala does not have “Superfund” sites to restore the land. The mining companies will ravage and damage to the land and leave with the riches extracted trickling up to the latifundarios and government co-conspirators. The desecration of nature can be seen in in the above video.  So have a nice day and the next time you see a woman in a colorful traje, remember where she came from.

Under the RADAR human abuses in Guatemala

 Mountain top removal and mining effluents endanger indigenous population

Mayan Diodora Hernandez shot in S Jose Nueva Esperanza

Goldcorp menaces Guatemalan Maya

Marlin Mine: “The Rape of Mother Earth”

Goldcorpto shareholders: Ignore International Consensus to Suspend Operations”

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Economics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.