An Open Letter to My Congressman Regarding American Credit Worthiness

An Open Letter to my Congressman, the Honorable  Elton Gallegly

I am very upset about the current situation regarding Republican refusal to allow the increase in public debt.  This may not be your fault but rather the fault of a group of inexperienced freshman tea baggers who would “drive our country into default in order to save it.”  

I agree that a reduction of the public debt is appropriate, but the threat of American financial default is not the place to negotiate reform, nor am I inclined to dismantle our interlocking net of education, security for the aged, and maintenance of the country’s infrastructure, and international aid that allows us to enjoy our standard of living with a slash and burn approach to cutting expenditures.

However, I see that you are also a signer of Grover Norquist’s Taxpayer Protection Pledge.


I interpret this pledge as an oath of allegiance to two masters, dividing your loyalty between your constituents and an extra-legislative political group able to demand your allegiance to an agenda that you, as a congressman were not elected to support.

You were elected to represent your constituents and the larger interests of the country you have sworn to protect: not a political agenda whose aims are suspect to many of us with families, obligations, and personal treasure to protect.

The protection of the people who elected you is your prime responsibility.  If you cannot support the preservation of American credit worthiness the international financial arena and, so, create a situation where unanticipated consequences, perhaps a second recession, will determine our future well being, I pledge to actively work for your removal from office. (Feel free to send this letter to your favorite politician)

J Carlos Deegan,  machimon.wordpress.com

 

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Economics, Poli/Econ and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Open Letter to My Congressman Regarding American Credit Worthiness

  1. Julie Garnier says:

    The only people that you should be pledging an oath to are your constituents, not outsiders that are paying your election costs. We are the people you represent. We are the people that put you into office.
    When are you going to be having a town hall meeting? I think it is about time that you stand before those of us that you represent and explain yourself. I think it is time for you to listen to us and find out the direction we would like you to be going in terms of taxes and entitlements. You seem to be on your own personal program. I have called your office and written to you several times. All I get in return is a form letter that has nothing to do with my concerns. That is not acceptable.
    I think it is time for you to look back to the run up to last Novembers elections. Carly Fiorina and Meg Whitman both through millions of dollars into their campaigns. They both lost. Nobody was really paying attention to you. Guess what sir? We are now. My advice to you is stop worry about Grover Norquist. You have people here at home that are not to happy with you. It would be smart to think about that before you are out of a job at the next election.

    • carlos says:

      Thank you for the response, Julie. This was a letter I sent to the honorable congressman in the hope that it might be a template for others. I share your concern as you might have seen in my other political posts. The horse is out of the barn, however, and we have been embarrassed internationally, our creditworthiness is lower, and the world wondering if our leaders are of better than average intelligence.You are right to single out Grover Norquist. Every generation seems to grow a Machiavelli, a Rove, a gifted rogue whose breadth of vision is limited to the task at hand. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Susan Sayler says:

    Hi Carlos
    I disagree with you about raising the debt ceiling but I totally agree with you about split loyalties. The oath-signing became cool when the Skull and Bones crime syndicate developed that technique to create lasting mafia-like bonds within their group.

    Realize you are being hornswaggled about the economy and the need for more debt. The working class citizens of America are not going to benefit by raising the debt ceiling.

    We have already moved past the point where giving big corporations tax breaks will create new jobs. All the new jobs are outsourced to the lowest bidder — which usually is not the United States.

    All that raising the debt ceiling will do is put a greater burden on the backs of our children and that is not fair. Raising the debt ceiling only favors big corporations which have proven that they have no loyalty to the American people.

    This is a global world now. The solution is to take economic control at a local community level. Mega corporations are too obese to move with agility. Think about it.

Comments are closed.