Could I Love You

Once in a while, when I have drunk tea or the jasmine in the garden wafts in, I pause and look to see what I can find on the internet to soothe my soul – Carlos

Could I Love You

http://jantar.darkervision.com/

Could I love you,
if I had no memory
of breathing skin,
of weight, or time, or matter?

(Close to counting
creases in the sheet
that covers way too much of you)

Perfect as the instinct
and the courage
of the painter’s first
and lasting stroke;

(Wide awake now,
caught by morning lust
and light, I watch)

silent as the forest,
in between the lightning
and the first few swollen drops
of rain to hit the upper leaves:

(I do not touch you, yet
I feel each particle of dust,
caught in fever flight)

Could I love you,
if I had no eyes
to feast upon your flesh,
no words to call you beautiful?

(anonymous-so far)

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Language, Sex and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Could I Love You

  1. clara garcia amaral fernandes says:

    Dear Carlos:

    I”m fond of poetry.

    But more than this I’m thinking you are “getting sentimental over me”.

    Please, don’t take my joke seriously, I just remembered an old romantic song of “our youth”.

    But if you goes on sending me this kind of poetry, it’s me that will become “getting sentimental over you”.

    The distance as well as destiny will preserve us, I hope.

    Muito carinho por você.

    Clara

    • carlos says:

      Clara, I am glad the poems I select affect you so. Many read my blog so be assured my efforts are not only for you and your lover need not have any fear. Of course, I am very fond of you and, you have said: “Distance and destiny will preserve us.”

Comments are closed.