I Remember You (poem)

I Remember You

I don’t remember when we met  – or where,

but I remember you

I don’t remember all the opening patter,

but I remember you

I remember your anticipatory banter,

your veiled acknowledgement of

hidden expectations.  Yes,

I remember you

I remember you in the darkness of

the house on Olympic boulevard,

the smell of your skin after I had washed it

with my tongue.

I remember the edge of your hair

just behind your ear

as we lay, apprehensively waiting for

your mother’s steps

I remember your lips,

the depression

at the base of your throat

as my tongue explored

what was freely available

and I began to explore

every inch of you.

I remember your skin,

every ripple, every hidden corner

where your scent drew me further

in my search for satisfaction

in the essence of you

I loved you in the darkness

I loved you in the light

I loved you in the darkness

as my mouth consumed your thigh

You may have been elsewhere

as I fulfilled my search

for the all, for the core of you,

but I remember you

as my mouth found you,

in the darkness on Olympic

Boulevard, and drank,

for it seemed an eternity,

from the well of life between

your  legs.

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Language, Sex and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Remember You (poem)

  1. clara garcia amaral fernandes says:

    Dear Carlos:

    At the first reading this poem seemed me too crude. I missed the scent of some metaphores to lighten such a deep erotic experience which would endure in the author’s memory.

    At a second reading, yet crude but perfect.

    Clara

    • carlos says:

      It seems that the visuals and metaphors are the view through the glasses of time. The scent of skin, like the smell of the earth when rain begins to fall long outlasts the memory of Pythagoras. The eyes, of course, are masculine and often see life in different ways.

  2. Inspiration says:

    Very nice poem today. I really enjoyed reading it. Please read and share my poem “The Inspiration” also.

    Thanks again for writing this.

  3. trevorpantera3112 says:

    I see care in this. Which makes me care for it. Great poem.

Comments are closed.