Oh My, the Sky is Falling! Earthquake Hits Eastern US!

Millenarians Aided by Forces of Nature

What a day!  Bumpass, VA (23024) reports a major earthquake felt  a level VII shock on the Modified Mercalli intensity scale (5.9 Richter). (http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/DMR3/earthquakes.shtml)

Rev. Gerald Wellfall declared it was God’s Punishment for abandoning the Defense of Marriage Act that forbade the marriage of same sex couples and general  sinfulness.

Many in South see the recent spate of the tornadoes, flooding, drought, and heat to be a foreshadowing of things to come for ignoring scripture.  Unitarians set up an internet forum to provide a venue for other possible causes such as historical data, mining, and tectonic effects.

Southern Republicans blamed Barack Obama and ObamaCare. And declared that there should be a moratorium on spending and a reduction in the tax rate so that people can afford to rebuild.

Some Independents have suggested that both houses of the Congress be outsourced in the interest of good governance.  Outsourcing to independent companies would inject competition to produce results.

THE SECOND COMING

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
    The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
    Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
    Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
    The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
    The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
    The best lack all conviction, while the worst
    Are full of passionate intensity.

    Surely some revelation is at hand;
    Surely the Second Coming is at hand.
    The Second Coming! Hardly are those words out
    When a vast image out of Spiritus Mundi
    Troubles my sight: a waste of desert sand;
    A shape with lion body and the head of a man,
    A gaze blank and pitiless as the sun,
    Is moving its slow thighs, while all about it
    Wind shadows of the indignant desert birds.

    The darkness drops again but now I know
    That twenty centuries of stony sleep
    Were vexed to nightmare by a rocking cradle,
    And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
    Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

W B Yeats


About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.