NRA Sending Constitutional Committee to Aid Libyan Freedom

Give Me Libya or Give Me Death!

Now that Libya has freed itself from the long, dark night of Gaddafi’s 40 years of autocratic rule, the National Rifled Association is sending a delegation to assist the new Libyan government that will help them fashion elements of their constitution similar to our own, tracing its roots to Locke, Paine, Mill, and other luminaries of the enlightenment.

Just as in was understood in pre-Revolutionary America, Libya understands the later Chinese dictum that “Political power grows out of the barrel of a gun.” It is in the interest of the Libyan people to recognize that their insurance against the resurgence of another dictatorial government is the right of the people to keep and bear arms.  If not included in the constitution, it should at least be the first amendment.

Government exists by the consent of the governed.  The NRA adapts from America’s own preamble to the “Declaration of Independence:”

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government…”

These are strong words but there are no stronger patriots than those of the National Rifled Association.

We will be watching how the Libyans implement what we take as a fundamental right. -/carlos

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.