Quo Vadis, Brasil?

Independence day corruption protests in Brazil…

Independence day in Brazil Provokes Demonstrations Against Corruption in Government

Today, Sept 7, is Brazil’s independence day, but they’re NOT demonstrating pride in their independence.  On the contrary they are dressed in black to demonstrate against the abuses of power in the Brazilian political process.  For example, the council of deputies and senate, (both of our houses of congress)  are able to vote in secret. My gosh, we in America wouldn’t know who to vot out of office!

Well, this is America and we’ve had our suspicions about those Brazilians ever since we noticed that they had the 7th highest GDP (just behind Germany, France, and the UK). We’ve got to pay attention to these upstart countries especially when they almost as big as we are areawise.

Nevertheless, while we  in the US and the UK revel en exposing the human frailties and pecadillos (from a sense of moral indignation, never for political advantage),  our Brazilian friends (in government) like to protect their own (hey, who can throw the first stone?).

Besides, many in government have a hustle going on from lumber to heavy industry to, uh, raising frogs.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-14830679

Commentario em Português,veja:

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Poli/Econ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.