Razor Wire

Razor Wire

Barbed wire is made by twisting

short, pointed segments of wire

around a longer, coiled length of wire.

Razor wire is made by die cutting

pointed razors in an endless chain

around a longer, coiled length of wire.

.

Barbed wire pierces and tugs at the skin.

It holds you like a fly in a web.

It says “NO” and establishes perimeters.

Razor wire pierces and cuts the flesh.

It slices like bread at the baker’s.

It says nothing but slices deeper and deeper.

.

Barbed wire keeps animals in, or out.

They learn the limits of their world

and to not reach beyond.

Razor wire lies in wait to hold and cut

until you fall, bleeding, into oblivion.

Razor wire is for you or me.

.

J Carlos Deegan, 3/89

About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Language, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Razor Wire

  1. Carlos,

    Não te encontrei na aspereza desses versos. Mas tenho certeza que os buscaste no fundo d’alma.

    Há um simbolismo forte, patente, que associa navalhas a todo tipo de interdição.

    Mas só ao autor caberá avaliá-las no seu sentido real. Embora, como dizes, “razor wire is for me and you”.

    Pessoas muito inteligentes, muito atentas ao mundo a sua volta, como tu, têm essa capacidade de avaliar a luta insana que é tentar “escapar à realidade”.

    Usei uma metáfora num texto que escrevi sobre a liberdade, em que digo: “…a cerca viva da existência – ninguém vai além sem que volte com as mãos feridas.”

    Será que falávamos da mesma coisa?

    Um abraço.

    Clara

    • carlos says:

      O arame farpado é para o gado. As pessoas, se forem considerados gado inteligentes, logo descobrem que o que pica não mata. O que mata, corta em mil fatias e lentamente. Gado manso evitem o que pica. Gado inteligente freqüentmente desafiam o arame.

      Barbed wire is for cattle. People, if they were considered smart cattle, soon discover that barbed wire pricks but doesn’t kill. What kills, kills by a thousand cuts, slowly. Tame cattle avoid what stings. Intelligent cattle often challenge the wire.

Comments are closed.