Question: Is Free Will Free?

I’ve read Scientific American for over xx years.  Long enough to remember when it was a hard read for a 13 year old.  SciAm has become a lot more accessible over the years and so it should.  I also remember when the news was news  – and not an entertainment profit center.  

Back on topic: What is free will and do you ever use it?  Are you Christian because you were raised that way?  Are you Jewish because you just thought it was a good idea?  Did Loyola have a point when he said “Give me the boy until he is seven, and I will give you the man.” Or Sam Harris:  Sam Harris on “Free Will”?  Let this rattle around your mind for a while, then search around for what others have had to say about “free” will.

How Advertisements Manipulate Behavior[Preview]

Can subliminal advertisements influence our behavior? New research says yes—but only under certain circumstances

By Wolfgang Stroebe  | April 20, 2012 |

The birth of subliminal advertising reads almost like a script from a television show. In this real-life story, the spotlight falls on James M. Vicary, an independent marketing researcher.

On September 12, 1957, Vicary called a press conference to announce the results of an unusual experiment. Over the course of six weeks during the preceding summer, he had arranged to have slogans—specifically, “Eat popcorn” and “Drink Coca-Cola”—flashed for three milliseconds, every five seconds, onto a movie screen in Fort Lee, N.J., while patrons watched Picnic. Vicary argued that these messages were too fast for filmgoers to read but salient enough for the audience to register their meaning subconsciously. As proof, he presented data indicating that the messages had increased soda sales at the theater by 18 percent and popcorn sales by 58 percent.  http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=the-subtle-power-of-hidden-messages&WT.mc_id=SA_CAT_MB_20120425


About carlos

I'm a curious person, of reasonable intellect, "on the beach" (retired) and enjoying my interest in anthropology, language, civil rights, and a few other areas. I've been a hippie/student/aerospace tech writer in the '60s, a witness to the Portuguese revolution in the ‘70s, a defense test engineer and witness to the Guatemalan genocide in the '80s, and a network engineer for an ISP in the '90s. Now I’m a student and commentator until my time is up. I've spent time under the spell of the Mesoamerican pyramids and the sweet sound of the Portuguese language. I've lived in Europe, traveled in Brazil, Central America, Iceland, New Zealand, and other places. My preferred mode of travel is with a backpack and I eat (almost) anything local. Somehow, many of the countries I have been to have had civil unrest (for which I was not responsible). I'm open to correspond with anyone who might share my liberal, humanist interests. I live in San Buenaventura, California.
This entry was posted in Anthropology, Mind and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.